About First There Was Forever: 


Lima and Hailey have always been best friends, but in the shifting social landscape of tenth grade, nothing and no one is safe. While Hailey abandons Lima to party with the cool kids, Lima falls for Hailey’s long time crush, Nate, and their friendship beings to falter. Lima thinks she’s saving her friendship by lying, but she’s only buying time. As the secrets stack up, Lima is forced to make a choice: between her best friend forever, and the boy who wasn’t meant to be hers.

-Dial Books/Penguin Randomhouse 2015


Publisher's Weekly *Starred Review*

"Romano's debut swims with emotion, and Lima’s introspective narration will draw readers into her exhilarations and anxieties. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han won’t want to miss this sensitive exploration of romantic and platonic relationships in flux, and young women coming into their own.” -Publishers Weekly


Kirkus Books

"The novel's heart is in the right place: beating hard and fast as the author examines the implosion of a long-term friendship. ... provocative bits of narrative tissue, needling both of the protagonists and eliciting emotional, intellectual and sexual awakenings. By novel's end, both young teens are closer to the women they will eventually become. Whether or not their friendship endures is up to readers to decide. An emotionally rich coming-of-age love story.” -Kirkus Books


The Los Angeles Review of Books

"With descriptions that are rich, intimate, and a pure pleasure to read...[Juliana Romano] captures the awkwardness of teenagers grappling with feelings for which they have no language yet. In Nate and Lima, young readers will find a relationship that is both deliciously dreamy and achingly real." -The Los Angeles Review of Books


Ein Sommer fuer die Ewigkeit, German Translation CLICK HERE to redirect to Verlagsgruppe RandomHouse

About Summer in the Invisible City: 


Seventeen-year-old Sadie Bell has this summer all figured out: She’s going to befriend the cool girls at her school. She’s going to bond with her absentee father, a famous artist, and impress him with her love of photography. And she’s finally going to get over Noah, the older guy who was her very first mistake.Sadie wasn’t counting on meeting Sam, a funny and free-thinking boy who makes her question the things she thinks she is supposed to want. But when those Sadie cares about most hurt her, will Sam’s friendship be enough? Sadie can see the world through her camera, but can she see the people who have loved and supported her all along?

-Dial Books/Penguin Randomhouse 2015


Praise for "Summer in the Invisible City":


"Romano’s novel wanders languorously through Sadie’s summer, treating readers to the same lushly detailed writing that distinguished her previous book...Relationships among friends, family, and romantic partners are the heart of Sadie’s life and her story, and readers will enjoy meandering through the joys and disappointments of this quiet, reflective teen." - Publisher's Weekly


“A lovely summer romance with plenty to say about art, friendship, and love.”—Booklist


“Her misplaced search for fatherly love and acceptance adds an extra level of depth and introspection to the author’s sophomore novel…A recommended purchase for fans of teen romance.”—School Library Journal


"An engaging coming-of-age tale.”—Kirkus Reviews