larger file.jpg

Lima and Hailey have always been best friends, but in the shifting social landscape of tenth grade, nothing and no one is safe. While Hailey abandons Lima to party with the cool kids, Lima falls for Hailey’s long time crush, Nate, and their friendship beings to falter.

Lima thinks she’s saving her friendship by lying, but she’s only buying time. As the secrets stack up, Lima is forced to make a choice: between her best friend forever, and the boy who wasn’t meant to be hers.

-Dial Books/Penguin Randomhouse 2015

Praise for First There Was Forever

"Romano’s debut swims with emotion, and Lima’s introspective narration will draw readers into her exhilarations and anxieties. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han won’t want to miss this sensitive exploration of romantic and platonic relationships in flux, and young women coming into their own.” -Starred Review, Publishers Weekly Publishers Weekly

"The novel's heart is in the right place: beating hard and fast as the author examines the implosion of a long-term friendship. ... provocative bits of narrative tissue, needling both of the protagonists and eliciting emotional, intellectual and sexual awakenings. By novel's end, both young teens are closer to the women they will eventually become. Whether or not their friendship endures is up to readers to decide. An emotionally rich coming-of-age love story.” -Kirkus Books Kirkus Books

"With descriptions that are rich, intimate, and a pure pleasure to read...[Juliana Romano] captures the awkwardness of teenagers grappling with feelings for which they have no language yet. In Nate and Lima, young readers will find a relationship that is both deliciously dreamy and achingly real." -The Los Angeles Review of Books -The Los Angeles Review of Books

Ein Sommer fuer die Ewigkeit, German Translation coming March 2016 CLICK HERE to redirect to Verlagsgruppe RandomHouse